Betta Fish Fin Rot - Help Treating

amandatuck2

Hello- I believe my betta fish has fin rot because the edges of their fin is jagged and torn. There are not any other tank mates other than some shrimp. However I am new at fish tanks and I let my tank balance get out of control due to over feeding. I have a 10 gal tank. I've been fighting getting back to a 0 Nitrite and near 0 Nitrate with daily water changes of about 30% for a week now.

I'm trying to treat my betta with aquarium salt (1tsp per 1 gal) and I have a 2 gal quarantine tank. However after 24hours in the QT with the Aquarium Salt my fish looked near death. Prior to going into the QT tank they would swim and zip around their tank. However in the QT tank they would just lay at the bottom and not move or eat.

After 24hrs I was afraid I was going to kill my betta so instead of doing a 100% water change and reapplying the aquarium salt I just moved my betta back into their normal tank.

Please help- am I being over sensitive and need to stick with the aquarium salt and QT tank for 3-4 more days?
Has anyone had their betta absolutely hate aquarium salt?
Do I even need aquarium salt? Will the fin rot just go away on it's own with frequent water changes?

Andy W.

First question for you, is it freshwater salt or saltwater salt?

Second question (and most important): water parameters?
Ammonia at 0? If not, your tank is not cycled.
Nitrite at 0? If not, your tank is not completely cycled.
Nitrate at 0? If not, not a dealbreaker.

Nitrate is the 'end product' of the nitrogen cycle we cultivate in our aquariums, and while it is toxic to fish, it is not nearly as toxic as ammonia or nitrite, only after levels become higher than 20-40ppm depending on who you talk to. Most aquarists consider 20ppm a target, and if you can reduce it lower than that, wonderful. Water changes are the main way to reduce nitrate.